Top Schools Finals - Newtown

Posted by Angela Stevens at 10:03 on 5 March 2015

Top Schools Finals - Newtown

The Top Schools final competition took place on Wednesday the 4th of March 2015 at Newtown Leisure Centre, Newtown. Ten teams from eight schools from across Wales competed in both the Girls and Boys events. It was a great turn out with a fantastic standard of play and level of competition throughout the event.

There were a group of five teams in the both the boys and girls competition.  Crickhowell, Chepstow, Alun, Hawarden and Flint were in the boys group and Crickhowell, Gwyr, Alun, Castell Alun and Gwynllyw were in the girls group.  The standard was extremely high throughout the competition, with some games going to match point.  

The results of the boys competition were 1st Crickhowell, 2nd Chepstow, 3rd Alun, 4th Hawarden and 5th Flint.

The results of the girls competition were 1st Crickhowell, 2nd Gwyr, 3rd Alun, 4th Castell Alun and 5th Gwynllyw.

The Crickhowell girls team which included Katie Whiteman, Bethany Jones, Aimee Whiteman and Lucie Whiteman won both their South Finals and National Finals without conceding a game.  Whilst the boys team which included Tomos Whiteman, Oliver Stansfield, Matt Reynolds and Ben Jones who only conceded 3 games in both tournaments.  Six out of the eight players are part of the south development squad and all eight were members of the Abergavenny Junior Badminton Club.  

The day was a great success, all pupils thoroughly enjoyed the day with some very tough competition on court. I would like to thank all those involved in the event and for helping to make it another great success.

For further information on this or any other badminton related query please contact Angela Stevens Badminton Development Officer - South Wales on 07772396360 or email at