Posted by Laura Morgan at 10:04 on 24 April 2015

 Tang Yuanting

She may still be making her name in international badminton but Tang Yuanting of China will be one of the new voices for players on the BWF Athletes’ Commission.

When nominations closed last Monday, the 20-year-old doubles specialist was the lone female among six nominees for three places on the representative body and therefore, in accordance with BWF regulations, automatically becomes a Commission member. 

Election rules stipulate the three positions will be determined by the male with the highest number of votes; the female with the highest number of votes; and the person with the next highest number of votes (male or female). Tang’s election is due to the second stipulation. 

This leaves five male nominees to vie for the two remaining positions. 

They are (listed alphabetically by surname): 

1.Shintaro Ikeda (JPN)

2.Lee Yong Dae (KOR)

3.Koen Ridder (NED)

4.Prakash Vijayanath (RSA)

5.Zhang Nan (CHN)

 Shintaro Ikeda   Lee Yong Dae

Athletes competing in the upcoming VIVO BWF Sudirman Cup in Dongguan will vote on Tuesday 12 May at the competition venue to decide who will take the other two seats on the BWF Athletes’ Commission. Lee is seeking re-election as he, Rodrigo Pacheco (Peru) and current Commission Chair, Emma Mason (Scotland), have ended their four-year term, resulting in the three vacant places on the six-member body. 

Prakash Vijayanath

Zhang Nan  Koen Ridder 2