Glasgow International Youth Badminton Championships 2015

Posted by Laura Morgan at 02:05 on 26 May 2015

 Glasgow International Youth Badminton Championships 2015 U13 squad
Picture: U13 Squad at the Glasgow International Youth Badminton Championships

13 players headed off to Glasgow last weekend to play in the 3rd Glasgow Youth International.

The event which hosts U13 and U15 players in a team and individual event has grown from strength to strength attracting players from many countries to the city. The event is organised by the Glasgow School of Sport, Glasgow City Council and North Lanarkshire County Association.

Saturday was team event day with the U13 players playing at the school of sport and the U15 players in the Badminton Scotland National Academy in Scotstoun.

The U13s started with a loss of 5-0 to a composite team Skyfall but improved greatly to lose a close match 3-2 to Scotland (the eventual winners) followed by a 4-1 loss to France. The play offs brought a good 3-2 win against a strong Glasgow team. Meanwhile the U15s similarly found the going tough with two 4-1 losses to Ulster and Dynamite before succumbing to Scotland in the play offs . One bright spot was the win of Oliver Stansfield against Will Jones (England) in the match v Dynamite.

Day 2 saw the individual events, with U15 players enjoying first round match wins but second match losses thus not reaching the knockout stages  Again top performance was Stansfield's 55 min match against Scotland National player Brandon Tsang.

The U13 players enjoyed a new experience and worked hard showing that they can compete at higher levels with more hard work. For the U15 players, another year in this age group will undoubtedly provide opportunities to achieve better success in the next year.

Players were:


Michael Pritchard
Daniel Clarke
Joe Singh
Will Summors
Caitlin Rees
Kelly Yip
Lowri Hart


Oliver Stansfield
Tom Sudder
Morgan Harding
Jac Clarke
Elis Richards
Rhea Hemmadi

Coaching Team

Nic Strange
Eddie O'Neill
Gary Clarke
Shu Nin Mo


Annette O'Neill
Lindsay Richards