2016 Yonex Welsh International - Finals Day

Posted by Rob Short at 12:12 on 5 December 2016

Day 4 of the tournament and the semi finals and finals.

HP Banner - Abian & Merrilees

In the final of the Men’s Singles Spain’s Pablo Abian made it a hat trick of Welsh titles with victory over 2014 winner Kieran Merrilees 21-16, 21-16. The 2010 and 2013 winner had looked in great form dropping only 1 set all week in the semi against Germany’s Kai Schaefer. Merrilees had earlier beaten last year’s winner Vladimir Malkov in 3 sets but, although he battled hard, he was unable to repeat the feat in the final. 

HP Banner - MS Pres

Beatriz Corrales made it a perfect day for Spain lifting the Women’s Singles title, her 2nd Welsh victory in 3 years. Having beaten Germany’s Fabienne Deprez in 3 sets earlier in the day, she was pushed all the way by Chinese Taipei’s Shuo Yun Sung, a semi final winner over no.3 seed Switzerland’s Sabrina Jaquet, eventually triumphing 21-19 in the 3rd set. 

HP Banner - WS Pres

The Women’s Doubles title was claimed by the no.1 seeds Anastasia Chervyakova and Olga Morozova. The Russian pair have been in superb form and lifted the title without dropping a set all week.  Their opponents in the final were the Indian pairing of Ashwani Ponnappa and N. Sikki Reddy but they had no answer to the Russians going down 16-21, 11-21.

HP Banner - WD Pres

No. 1 seeds Poland’s Robert Mateusiak and Nadia Zieba took the Mixed Doubles title with victory in 3 sets over the Scottish Open GP champions Malaysia’s Goh Soon Huat and Shevon Jemie Lai. The Polish pair played brilliantly throughout and the dropped set in the final was their only one of the whole week.

HP Banner - XD Pres

The final match of the day, the Men’s Doubles, was an all Chinese Taipei affair with Liao Min Chun & Cheng Heng Su claiming the title with victory in 2 sets over 3rd seeds Liao Kuan Hao and Lu Chia Pin 21-19, 21-13.

So, after 4 days of intense competition, the tournament is over for another year. Badminton Wales would like to say a big thank you to all the players, officials, volunteers, sponsors and spectators for making it a very special event. 

We hope to see you again next year. 

You can see all the results from the event on Tournament Software by clicking here