2015 Deeside Junior Open

Posted by Carissa Turner at 02:12 on 17 December 2015

The final Badminton Wales tournament of 2015 was played on the weekend. Deeside Junior Open was held on December 13th at Deeside LC Flintshire. The tournament hosted both U13’s and U15’s age groups and saw some very competitive badminton played. 

Deeside O 2

The U13’s Boys Singles saw 13 entries but 2 withdrew post draw due to injuries. Christian Adams took first place after a great three set match against Oliver Harrington which ended in setting in the third. The final score was 11-15, 15-10, 17-15. 

In the U13’s Girls Singles there were two groups of 3 with Stephanie Rowarth and Priva Basnet easing their way through to the final. In the end Basnet came out on top winning 15-9, 15-10.
The Girls Doubles was a little more straight forward as the two singles finalists paired up to win the title in straight sets. In second position were Jessica Ding and Aarty Aravind. 

The Boys Doubles saw some more tight three set matches with all 5 pairs in one group. Despite 2 out of their 4 matches going to three sets and another to setting, David Humphreys and Oliver Harrington came out on top. The runners up were Alfie Moorcroft and Archie Bult who also played two three set matches. 

Deeside O 4

The Mixed Doubles saw more three set matches follow but it was Christian Adams  and Kritti Sathyanathan who won all of their matches in the end with Oliver Harrington and Stephanie Rowarth coming runners up. 

Deeside O 1

The U15’s event saw a slightly larger entry and plenty of competitive matches.
Michael Pritchard dominated the singles winning the final against Alexander Tosney 15 -10, 15-6. 

The U15’s Girls Singles saw some heated battles right the way through the competition. In the end it was Abi Cottrill who won beating Emma Weaver 15-5 15-9.

Both Doubles events saw only one group stage played. In the Boy’s Doubles 4 pairs battled it out for the title but it was the two singles finalists, Michael Pritchard and Alexander Tosney, who came out top winning all of their matches in two sets. 

Deeside O 3

Only 3 pairs were entered in the Girls Doubles Lily Hird and Lili Thomas won with their final set against runners up Carys Jones and Abi Cottrill going to setting in the third set. 

With 5 pairs entered the Mixed Doubles champions were also determined by a group winner. Alexander Tosney and Abi Cottrill won without dropping a set with Michael Pritchard and Lili Thomas coming in as runners up. 

Deeside O 5

A great tournament and end to the 2015 tournaments.
A full set of results can be found here Deeside Open Results 2015